Delegation is a beautiful thing

‘Tis the season to be jolly brilliant at…

shopping

baking

partying

hosting

feasting

crafting

home-making

looking deliciously enticing in a Christmas jumper

amongst other things.

Sounds like a recipe for burnout to me. And I’m not talking about the Christmas cake. I prefer this one…

‘Tis the season to be jolly good at:

Delegation.

Oh, that is a beautiful, scrumptious word. Isn’t it just? It’s also a loaded word. Why? Because wrapped up in that word is a whole load of letting go. It requires a massive shedding of the skin of pride and self-importance. It’s about losing the approval of others and letting go of that need to be admired for what one can do. It’s loaded with fear. Fear of letting go of control. Fear that it won’t get done to my standard, my expectations. Fear that someone else might get the praise instead of me. Fear that someone else might do it better than me. There’s a whole world of loss wrapped up in that one word.

That’s why they call it the art of delegation. Because it’s bloody hard. But if you can do it, you will discover a whole world of GAIN. Jesus taught an awful lot about the topsy turvy-ness of loss for gain and gain for loss.

Thought and task for today:

You know, Christmas is a great time to practise the art of delegation. So I will be asking for help in the kitchen, accepting offers of “bringing dessert” and allowing others to do things their way, even if it’s not quite how I like them. It’s all about compromising for the greater good. The greater good might start with “just avoiding burnout”. But delegation is so freeing. It frees me of pride, of people-pleasing, of perfectionism and of trying to be a domestic goddess. In short, it trades the art of making Christmas “the me show” for a beautiful sense of team work, community and togetherness. And it’s good for our souls to let go of control.  If someone else wants to be a show off and is clearly fishing for praise for their pavlova, then fine, I will indulge them, and squeal with delight at every single spoonful.

It’s like that as a musician too. Often I will want to do a song “my way”, but ultimately, when you’re working properly as a group, the song has to be an amalgamation of compromise; a jumble of my ideas and someone else’s ideas. So it doesn’t turn out how I would have done it alone, but it becomes something greater, through the process of letting go, and somehow, my “losses” become gains.

So, my task for today is to ask my husband to write tomorrow’s blog post for “A Sensitive Cynic’s Christmas Survival Guide”. It can be on whatever he wants it to be, as long as it’s got a Christmas thread running through it. I’m letting go of control. I might just go one step further and let him do the Christmas food shop alone. On second thoughts….

One response

  1. Pingback: Grated Expectations | In a manna of speaking...

Leave a Reply

