Day 1 – A confession, a onesie and a little self-reflection

I have a small confession to make. If you read my last post you’ll have been shocked to hear about the secret surveillance of Big Santa and his Secret Police. You may have panicked when I told you how they are watching closely to identify anyone who threatens their plan to create Christmas Utopia.

Well, here’s the thing. Big Santa isn’t real. Doesn’t exist. I made him up.

There’s no Christmas Police either. There, I said it. What can I say? I just got a little carried away, metaphorically speaking. Sorry about that.

But of course you knew didn’t you? You probably had it all worked out, the whole Big Santa story being a metaphor for the media and big business. The Christmas Police being the general public; the masses who willingly, innocently spread “Big Santa’s” subliminal marketing messages and blindly do “his” bidding.

With such powerful influences all around us, we can’t help but fall under their snowy spell, our minds too foggy to make our own decisions. All of a sudden we are swept up in a wave of mass Christmas hysteria. Any efforts to create new and better ways of “doing Christmas” quickly fizzle out. The exhaustion of swimming against the tide soon saps our enthusiasm and we succumb to just going along with the crowd.

This year I decided it’s time to finally resist it all, to make a change. And change takes deliberate analysis, planning and effort right? So I’ve written this 24-Step Self Help Guide with myself in mind, but I hope it will inspire you to forge your own path and give you some ideas so that you can create the kind of Christmas that suits you in your current season of life. I’m a married 37 year old woman with two kids. Your life may be completely different to mine right now. So just take what works for you and leave what doesn’t.

Come with me as I take a step back and start making my blue skies Christmas happen.

Before I give you the first of the 24 Steps, I recommend you watch the “video guide to surviving my survival guide” – below. (Sorry for the onesie, and for the waffling off on a tangent towards the end. I know I should have made more effort, but it was way too early in the morning).  If you don’t feel like listening to a waffling onesie wearer, skip to Day One’s Guide below the video…

 

A Sensitive Cynic’s Christmas Survival Guide – Day 1

“Mirror Mirror on the wall….”

Mirror

There’s an “I” in the word “mirror”, did you notice?

The Season of Selflessness is upon us. It’s the time of “Goodwill to all men (and women)”.  My mildly rebellious nature is taking over right now because instead of focussing on others, I’m thinking of the motto “Make Day One all about Number One”. Yep, Yours Truly gets to be at the top of the priorities list today. Goodwill to  ME(N). How very Scrooge-esque of me.

Today, it’s the “Me” show.

Before I give the impression that I’m a selfish git, it’s not actually selfish to put me first. It’s a case of putting on my oxygen mask before I help others with theirs. It’s logical. If I don’t take care of myself I won’t be any good to others. But it’s not just about looking after myself, it’s also about looking AT myself. Looking in that mirror a little more closely, you know what I’m saying?

I need Christmas to change. But sadly Christmas is not capable of changing itself. I can’t change society and I can’t change other people. That leaves me with only one option. I change. Me, myself and I, we all change.

I’m gonna start by asking myself a few telling questions:

  • Why is it that I find myself pulled into the rip-tide of cultural norms that don’t work for me?
  • What kind of Christmas do I actually want to have?
  • What can I do to make it happen?
  • In fact, do I even want to bother with Christmas at all?

I’m going to answer those questions and more in the next few weeks.

Thought for today

I am going to take care of myself. I’m looking at the woman in the mirror. I’m asking her to change her ways.

Today’s Task

(Equipment: Paper and pen/pencil)

On one side of a piece of paper I’ll write down the things I dread and struggle with at Christmas. I don’t wanna take all day, it’s just a few thoughts here.

On the other side of the sheet I’ll write down any words or phrases that sum up my blue skies vision of how I want my Christmas to be. Not how society or my loved ones want it to be.  Strictly how “I” want it to be. Self-indulgence and self-reflection is how we will begin our journey.

Enjoy 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: A recap of week 1 and an insight into how I’m coping… | In a manna of speaking...

  2. Pingback: Grated Expectations | In a manna of speaking...

Leave a Reply

